About Big Apple Mami

Who I Am..

I am a native New Yorker.  I was born in the Bronx and spent most of my early life living in the Bronx, but I moved to Flushing Queens when I was 13 and I have been here ever since.  I did live on the upper west side for about 3 years when I first got married, but I am back in Queens raising my family in the same building I grew up in.  When we moved back to Queens my father was the super of our building, I literally live next door to my parents, we share a wall.  The main reason we moved back (besides the live in babysitters) was because all the first floor apartments have an outdoor space.  Our “backyard” is bigger than my apartment and with young children who are active having your own outdoor space is priceless.  Did I mention that the amount that we spend on a two bedroom apartment with a free indoor parking space is less than most people spend on a closet size studio in Manhattan.

My Education

I went to school in East Harlem from 1st grade – 12th grade.  My school became one of then countries number one progressive schools, I went to Central Park East and Central Park East Secondary School.  As a high school student I traveled the country educating others about progressive education.  I went to Syracuse University and received my  bachelor degree in social work in 1999.  After working in the social work field for 5 years and constantly being laid off due to lack of funding I decided to join the NYC Teaching Fellows.  In 2007 I received my masters in urban education and I have been teaching every since. I’ve worked in the Bornx and Brooklyn and taught most of the grade from K-8th.  Besides having experience teaching all subjects, I’ve also taught, technology, dance, gym, and field studies.